Saturday, February 04, 2017

Pro Football Hall Of Fame Class For 2017: LT, TD, Jerry Jones Amongst Those Elected

Seven figures were elected on Saturday to the Professional Football Hall of Fame:

LaDanian Tomlinson, the long-time San Diego Chargers running back who was NFL Most Valuable Player in 2006 and who made three All-Pro teams, led the league twice in rushing (2006, 2007) and rushing touchdowns on three occasions (2004, 2006, 2007)

Terrell Davis, a Denver Broncos running back whose outstanding career was cut to seven years due to injuries, averaged 1,603 yards on the ground in his first four seasons with Denver and helped lead the Broncos to back-to-back Super bowl titles (SB XXXII and SB XXIII).

Jerry Jones, owner of the Dallas Cowboys since 1989.  During the first seven seasons of his ownership, the Cowboys won three Super Bowls (SB XXVII, SB XXVIII, SB XXX), first under Jimmy Johnson, then under Barry Switzer, with Hall-of-Famers Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, and Michael Irvan helping to lead the way.

For most of his career, defensive end Jason Taylor was a standout for the Miami Dolphins, having earned a reputation as being one of the NFL's more dominant and consistent pass rushers during his career.  He ended his career with 139.5 sacks, ranking seventh on the all-time NFL career list.  He forced 46 fumbles, intercepted eight passes (returning three for touchdowns), and recovered 29 fumbles (returning six for TDs).

Kurt Warner, a former Arena Football League and NFL Europe League quarterback, led the St. Louis Rams to their only Super Bowl title (SB XXXIV, game MVP) and who was named NFL MVP in 1999 and led the league in passing three straight seasons (1999-2001). He played in three Super Bowls (SB XXXVI with St. Louis and SB XLIII with Arizona) and came close to becoming a three-time Super Bowl champion.

Morten Andersen, the NFL's all-time leading scorer, was an outstanding placekicker whose career lasted 25 years, making 79.7% of his kicks.  He's only the second kicker to make it to the Hall of Fame (after Jan Stenerud). He scored more than 90 points in 22 different seasons and over 100 in 14.

Kenny Easley played safety for the Seattle Seahawks from 1981-87 and was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1984.  He was a five-time All-Pro and a member of the league's All-Decade Team of the 1980s.  He had 32 career interceptions, three of which he ran back for touchdowns.

No comments: